Ritualistic landing drink


Ritualistic landing drink
Landing back at the Cleveland airport I made my way that afternoon
To the airport bar for my ritualistic landing drink.
I was in no hurry because I never checked any bags And I was generally never in a rush
As I watched the olives dance to the bottom of the glass Slowly making their way back to the top
Amidst all the tiny bubbles they had created
I was reminded of a couple of facts
That were to serve me well in the coming days.
The first one was very simple,
If someone invites you to do something
Proclaiming it to be a blast,
It never is.
Secondly if I had witnessed a murder
And in explaining that murder to a group of ten people Strategically placing the word fuck in there several times
At least half of the group would be more offended
By the word fuck
Than the actual murder itself.
That being said,at any given moment we are surrounded By people that are focused entirely on the wrong things.

3 thoughts on “Ritualistic landing drink

Leave a Reply

